Types of Indian eVisa: A Comprehensive Guide

India offers various types of electronic visas (eVisa) to facilitate streamlined entry for travelers from eligible countries. These eVisa categories cater to different purposes of travel, such as tourism, business, and medical visits. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll TYPES OF INDIAN EVISA explore the different types of Indian eVisa available to travelers.

1. eTourist Visa (eTV)

  • Purpose: For tourism, sightseeing, recreation, and casual visits to India.
  • Duration: Valid for 30 days, 1 year, or 5 years, depending on the selected option.
  • Entry Type: Single entry or multiple entries, depending on the chosen duration.
  • Conditions: Not applicable for business activities, employment, or medical treatment.

2. eBusiness Visa (eBV)

  • Purpose: For business visits, commercial engagements, or exploratory business trips to India.
  • Duration: Valid for 1 year, with multiple entry options.
  • Conditions: Allows engagement in business-related activities such as meetings, conferences, and trade fairs.

3. eMedical Visa (eMV)

  • Purpose: For seeking medical treatment in India, along with accompanying attendants.
  • Duration: Valid for 60 days, with triple entry options.
  • Conditions: Requires a medical certificate from a recognized medical institution in India.

4. eConference Visa (eCV)

  • Purpose: For attending conferences, seminars, workshops INDIAN VISA REJECTED, or training programs in India.
  • Duration: Valid for 30 days, with single or double entry options.
  • Conditions: Requires an invitation or confirmation from the conference organizers.

5. eMedical Attendant Visa (eMedA)

  • Purpose: For accompanying attendants of patients traveling to India on eMedical Visa (eMV).
  • Duration: Same as the corresponding eMedical Visa.
  • Conditions: Requires proof of relationship with the patient and a copy of the patient’s eMedical Visa.

6. eTourist Visa for Cruise Ship Passengers

  • Purpose: For cruise ship passengers arriving at designated seaports in India.
  • Duration: Valid for multiple entries within the cruise duration, up to 30 days per entry.
  • Conditions: Allows disembarkation for shore excursions or short visits during the cruise itinerary.

Eligibility and Application Process

  • Eligibility criteria, application procedures, and required documents vary depending on the specific eVisa category.
  • Generally, applicants must hold passports from eligible countries, meet health and character requirements, and have sufficient funds for their stay.
  • The application process involves filling out an online application form, uploading required documents, and paying the visa fee online.
  • Upon approval, the eVisa is electronically linked to the applicant’s passport and sent via email.


Indian eVisas offer a convenient and efficient way for eligible travelers to obtain authorization for their visits to India. By understanding the different types of eVisa available and their respective conditions, travelers can choose the most suitable option for their travel purpose and enjoy a smooth entry process upon arrival in India.